Follow us on
join us facebook
Maharajapuram Viswantha Iyer Award for Mannargudi Easwaran
CHENNAI, January 24: Mridanga vidwan Mannargudi Easwaran has been chosen for this year’s Maharajapuram Viswantha Iyer Memorial Award, according to a release from Maharajapuram Viswantha Iyer Trust.

He will be given the award at a function being organized on the evening of January 28. It will be held at Srinivasa Sastry Hall in Mylapore. The award comprises Rs.20000 in cash and a gold medal.

Senior musicians Tirupoonthuruthy Venkatesan, Padmavathy Ananthgopalan and Srimathi Brahmanandam will also be honoured with Senior Musicians’Award. The Youth Awards for excellence go to Sandeep Narayan, Avaneeswaram S.R.Vinu and B. Sivaraman.

Narayana Viswanath will inaugurate the 3-day music festival. Va. Ve.Subramaniam will preside over the function and present the awards. Sikkil Bhaskaran and Maharajapuram Srinivasan will felicitate the awardees.

A vocal concert of Sandeep Narayan will precede the award function.